Sexual Harassment: Anytime, Anywhere!

I know, I know; I promised not to disappear and then I did. Unfortunately, this was due to how swamped I am with my new job (I’ll get to it in another post) and my complete and utter lack of inspiration.

Image: giphy.com

Image: giphy.com

As you know, I’m only good at writing about Cairo when I’m complaining, and I guess the city was good to me these past few weeks –well, not really “good”, but there was nothing new going on. People still drive like shit and I still get harassed, but it’s pretty much same old, same old. I had no new material to post here –until a few days ago.

Yes, the Egyptian community has not yet ceased to amaze me. Apparently we have stooped to an all-new low.

I was at the hospital visiting someone, and as I was going down the stairs, a guy harassed me.

He harassed me INSIDE A HOSPITAL.

Image: fortunenglory.tumblr.com

Image: fortunenglory.tumblr.com

Call me old fashioned, but I think the disgusting act of sexual harassment –which should, in a perfect world, cease to exist- could at least stick to the streets and not inside institutions where people get sick and potentially die.

I mean, what was this guy doing in a hospital besides taking a good eyeful of my body and commenting on how much he approved? I doubt he was there to have lunch or buy cigarettes.

He was either there because he was sick and needed to get some tests or he was visiting a sick friend or family member. Either way, he wasn’t supposed to be in some sort of cheerful lets-pick-up-some-girls mood. In fact, people tend to be more in touch with God around hospitals, so he should have probably been more focused on –I don’t know- praying? Not being a jackass? Not being an insensitive prick?

Image: confessionalprofessionaldramaqueen.blogspot.com

Image: confessionalprofessionaldramaqueen.blogspot.com

Let’s assume for one moment that this guy has an irreversible disease and was there to get his medication or get some tests done. Are you telling me that he was prepared to risk his first class seat on a plane to heaven just because my body was so damn fine that he just HAD to express his approval?

Image: knowyourmeme.com

Image: knowyourmeme.com

Bullshit.

The answer is simple; Egyptians have stooped so low that they have officially lost all sense of decency. They have already harassed pregnant women, women with their husbands and women in car accidents, so why not women at hospitals? Why not take it a step further and harass women at funerals or during business meetings? Come on, if you’re going to be completely insensitive and inappropriate, go all out!

Image: reactiongifs.com

Image: reactiongifs.com

All jokes aside, I don’t think I have ever been so stunned in my life. I stopped dead in my tracks when it happened and started yelling.

Me: “Are you seriously so vulgar that you’re harassing me inside a hospital?!”

Him it: *laughs* “No, I didn’t mean to.”

He then walked away, still laughing. And I stood there, tears of shock forming in my eyes.

What did he mean by saying he “didn’t mean to harass me”? So did he accidentally walk up to me, take a long lingering look at my body and then look at me and express his approval by taking a deep breath in and saying “mashallah!”

Yeah, it happens to me, like, all the time.

Image: giphy.com

Image: giphy.com

How do you expect this country to develop or for its people to succeed when they are this vulgar? You don’t. You expect chaos. And immigration.

It’s why me and so many others like me are trying to leave and save ourselves.

If this post depressed you, that was not the purpose. It’s good for you to know though, so that you can be prepared and not get as shocked as I was if something similar happens to you.

And if it depressed you, let’s stick to this funny image for now: if I see this person again, I swear to God I might just run him over with my car. Also, I hope he burns in hell and I hope my apparently fine-ass body was worth the burn.

If that didn’t make you laugh, here’s that dragon chick from Game of Thrones dropping my mic for me.

Image: media.tumblr.com

Image: media.tumblr.com

