On Procrastination and Cairo

If you’re reading this, you are either one of the loyal people who are still subscribed to this now dusty blog, or this is your first time here and you’re wondering what the hell this is.

Either way, thanks for showing up! I’ve been neglecting this blog for a few months now, and I want you to know that I was feeling pretty guilty about disappearing. I can’t count the number of times I wanted to write here but couldn’t/didn’t. This post is me trying to justify my disappearance and also a small attempt at trying to perform some CPR to bring this place back to life.

When it comes to random blogging and Cairo, the past few months have shown me the reasons why someone could find themselves unable to write something on the internet. While a big part of it is good old-fashioned laziness, another part can be categorised in some cultural and societal factors that I had taken for granted.

Factor #1: Physical exhaustion

Let’s face it: I am not an active person. Anyone who reads this blog or knows me understands that I am not an active person. With my current job in Smart Village and the fact that I can never bring myself to wake up on time to catch the bus, most of my life is now spent in my car. And since driving in Egypt is like playing a real-life version of Grand Theft Auto, I always arrive home too exhausted to do anything. So even if I want to write, work out, clean my room or even read a book, I always end up watching random TV episodes in bed until I eventually pass out and start the routine again the next day.

Image: giphy.com

Image: giphy.com

Factor #2: Emotional exhaustion

After noticing the above factor, I decided to work on eliminating it temporarily by taking some time off of work. It was my lame attempt at hitting the refresh button. The result? Work drama managed to reach me in the comfort of my own home. Starting from the odd call and email to convincing the people at work that whatever drama occurring at the workplace is genuinely the least of my concerns. I want to tell them that I couldn’t care less, but for diplomacy reasons, I have to resort to subtlety and words like “don’t worry” and “it’s really not important”.

Image: amywest.co

Image: amywest.co

Alas, Egyptians are not the type of people that understand subtlety.

Factor #3: Fear of being whiny

I’ve been going through a tough phase. The people close to me are all leaving the country, work is less than enjoyable and the city in general is starting to become more and more difficult to live in. While I would love to rant on and on about all of this, I don’t want to spread this kind of negativity, and even if I do- nobody will want to read it. Every person has their own shit going on, so no one wants to read about other people’s shit. However, I’m trying to become less negative by working on the way I see Cairo and the way I see the world.

Factor #4: Work and diplomacy

Like I said above, it’s important to be diplomatic when dealing with work issues. You have to treat the corporate life with kid gloves. I suck at being diplomatic. If it were up to me, I would very honestly rant over here about the things that piss me off about work and the people at work. But knowing the work environment, I know that someone from work will eventually have to stumble upon this blog after some cyber-stalking and then my lame diplomacy efforts will be rendered useless. I’m not saying I’m so important that people want to stalk me; I’m saying that the average Egyptian person will want to go out of their way to dig up dirt on a person.

Image: popsugar.com

Image: popsugar.com

So, while I have a ton of stories I’d love to share about work and the corporate life, I will not be able to write about them -not yet, anyway.

But if you ever read in the newspaper about a crazy psycho bitch that committed some hilarious crime in Smart Village, chances are that person is me. You read it here first, folks. Keep my legacy alive.

Factor #5: Laziness I’m also lazy.

Image: media.tumblr.com

Image: media.tumblr.com

Anyway, I am taking some time to determine how I can fix all the above factors. Maybe I’ll try waking up earlier for the bus, or maybe I’ll wear ear plugs to work. Maybe I’ll quit my job and start a crappy kickstarter campaign to help raise funds for my writing lifestyle. If anyone wants to help, I live on coffee, cigarettes and burgers. Send some.

Image: funnyjunk.com

Image: funnyjunk.com

