The Only Perk of Being a Guy in Egypt

First of all, I’d like to apologise for disappearing on all of you. I recently got a job and it’s insanely different compared to what I was doing before.

In my old job, I used to finish by 5 pm exactly and then I’d hang out anywhere and write until the streets were fit for driving. Although my new job is equally far away, I take the bus at 5 pm and then get more work done when I reach my house. Needless to say, by the time I’m done, I’m too tired and exhausted to do anything. For those of you who remember previous posts, I still don’t have time to go to the gym.

Oh, well.

Image: miscgifs.tumblr.com

Image: miscgifs.tumblr.com

But, not to worry, I’m working on it. I’ll try my best to keep the flow of posts consistent. I promise.

Anyway, today I wanted to discuss something about being a female in Egypt.

Being a female in Egypt is tough; you are constantly sexually harassed and most of the population refuse to acknowledge your existence. However, I still would prefer being a female -but I’d really love for the existing obstacles to disappear.

But there’s only one thing I envy about being a guy in this country. It’s an extremely silly and irrational reason, but if you’ve read the previous posts here you’d know that I am silly and irrational most of the time.

I envy Egyptian guys for how they can hang out anywhere and not have to spend a lot of money.

Let me explain.

As a girl, if I want to go out, I have to pick a cafe or a restaurant. This option, of course,  cannot happen if I’m broke -which is something that happens way more than it should.

Image: gurl.com

Image: gurl.com

Guys, however, have two very cheap options at their disposal that they take for granted. The first option is the option of hanging out by the nearest kiosk and the second option is the option of hanging out at oriental cafes. Allow me to elaborate.

You know Egyptian kiosks; they exist at every corner and are equipped with the most random things. They are also so colourful that sometimes you just want to buy something even if you don’t really need anything at that exact moment.

Image: escapadethroughegypt.wordpress.com

Image: escapadethroughegypt.wordpress.com

While the kiosk -to a girl- is merely a place to buy snacks when absolutely needed, to a guy it is a completely different matter. Guys can literally just go to a kiosk and hang out. Granted, they are usually still in school and probably broke, but they have the option. They can buy a few sodas and hang out drinking sodas and smoking cigarettes.

So, there you have it, an entire night spent with friends and it probably costs less than 10 pounds.

Lucky bastards. When I go to a cafe the taxes alone cost more than that.

Image: atrl.net

Image: atrl.net

For older guys who have outgrown the kiosk phase, there’s the option of going to the nearest oriental cafe or ahwa. They can just hang out and drink tea, turkish coffee or whatever they please. They can also order their favourite shisha.

Having never been to a proper oriental cafe, I don’t really have a price reference, but I’m guessing it probably costs less than 20 pounds. Again, that may still cost less than the taxes at a restaurant.

I’ve been to some of the semi-oriental cafes at Zamalek, but because girls can hang out there, they are usually extremely noisy and are probably only fit for a peaceful outing after midnight.

Here’s another reason to envy guys: no curfew!

Image: discussions.viki.com

Image: discussions.viki.com

But, to be fair, I don’t envy the things guys have to go endure in this country. They are put under a lot of pressure when it comes to marriage, career and family. I don’t think I’d ever survive having to support an entire family or not have the option of being unemployed.

Guys are basically forced to work right after they graduate and are given grief if they stay unemployed for more than a day. In some cases, they are forced to work with their fathers even if they want to pursue something different. They are then expected to acquire thousands of pounds to be able to get married. Then, they have to work like dogs to support their family. Throw in all the crappy errands they have to make, like helping girls in the family fix their cars, and you’ve got yourself one hell of a stressful life. It’s hard.

Maybe that’s why they hang out at cheap places; the poor bastards have to save their money for other things in their lives.

Image: glee.wikia.com

Image: glee.wikia.com

I guess it all evens out. Still, I wouldn’t say no if one of my guy friends invited me to hang out at the nearest kiosk or oriental cafe. Just saying.

Image: pandawhale.com

Image: pandawhale.com

