Why Cairo wants you to get fat (Part 5)

Ladies and gentlemen, I’d like to announce that this is my last post in the “Why Cairo wants you to get fat” series. It’s not that I’ve run out of ideas; I just don’t want to further depress you and myself. It’s best not to take what I’m saying too seriously if you’d like to keep your sanity.

We’ve discussed everything about the city making us fat, starting from dieticians and outings all the way to the street and traffic. The last thing making you fat, dear readers, is your friends.

Image: giphy.com

Image: giphy.com

Allow me to explain why I’m saying this by telling you about my own experience.

I tend to go through different health-obsessed phases. However, I usually give up and learn that my lifestyle wasn’t that unhealthy to begin with. Nevertheless, I keep going back to that phase whenever I am provoked.

I re-entered that phase a few weeks ago when a girl at work casually told me that I’d gained weight. And the truth is -although I am ashamed to admit it- I can get easily influenced by what other people tell me.

I decided to start a new healthy eating regimen and actually use my gym membership so that it would be more than just a card in my wallet. But I kept facing different obstacles like traffic and outings. Don’t worry, I actually managed to somewhat combat these difficulties. Or I’m trying to, at least.

But I faced the mother of all obstacles: my friends.

Even though everyone usually bitches about their weight and unhealthy eating habits, I managed to gather a group of awesome people who don’t give a crap about their weight.

Image: media.tumblr.com

Image: media.tumblr.com

But there’s a downside here. Whenever I would explain why I couldn’t get a burger like them or why I couldn’t split a fried appetizer, I would get insulted. Repeatedly. Apparently I seemed like a bit of a goody-two-shoes that way.

People want company. Misery loves company. Why should one person eat a disastrous fried meal while watching another person go for a healthier option? You can’t really blame them.

Image: perezhilton.com

Image: perezhilton.com

And it wasn’t just my friends, it was the people at work too. Including the girl who told me I had gotten fat. Yeah, you read that right. When we were celebrating a birthday at the office  and I declined a piece of birthday cake, people looked at me like I was a bitch.

Image: aliciaashcroft.files.wordpress.com

Image: aliciaashcroft.files.wordpress.com

But I’m proud to say that I didn’t let it get to me. It was difficult at first, but people get used to it eventually. In fact, some people may start getting influenced. Think of it as a very contagious -yet healthy!- disease.

But, hey, at the end of the day, we all love food. Food is awesome. Food is like a hug inside your body.

Image: landingstanding.com

Image: landingstanding.com

